Skip to content

A List: Things I Wish Gmail Would Let Me Do

May 27, 2010

I don’t like the sound of all the lists he’s making.

Sometimes, I just want Gmail to be just a little bit more magical for me. Here’s how:

1) Drag & drop my “multiple inboxes” so that I can change their order easily.

Sometimes I only need an additional inbox for a little while (e.g. emails pertaining to a specific event, like a friend’s wedding). Or, for a short while, one additional inbox might be a little bit more important than another, so I want it to be first (e.g. right now my “Stratejoy” inbox is more necessary to my day-to-day life than my “Italy Trip” inbox). Being able to drag & drop their position (similar to the way you can drag & drop where your Calendar & Docs panels) would be epically fantastic.

2) Organize my Labels the way I want.

It freaking infuriates me that the Labels list is alphabetical and there doesn’t seem to be anyway to change it. While alphabetical is typically good, it’s not always what I want. I have a lot of labels that pertain to similar things colored the same, to keep them together, but they’re all over the place alphabetically. I don’t like the way I’m currently getting around this, which is adding a “keyword” at the beginning of the label so they fit together correctly (e.g. “italy-planning” & “italy-ideas”).

Also, I really want the Label that I use the most to be at the top! I don’t want to have to add a “A” at the beginning of it to make it first.

3) Not show people’s status messages in the chat window

Yeah, yeah… this used to be a feature… and I LOVED IT. I was pissed when they removed it! It makes my chat window twice as long as it needs to be, and I never read people’s status messages anyway!

So, yeah, just a few things that would make my life easier. Do ya hear me, Google? Do ya?

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 1:19 pm

    organizing labels would be nice 🙂

Leave a Reply

