Skip to content

So, I’m Moving…

March 11, 2010

And I have stuff. I have a lot of stuff. You haven’t seen my closet yet, but you would not believe the amount of stuff one person can accumulate. I don’t even know what this stuff is, but it’s there and it’s mine and it needs a place to live.

So, I’m moving. I’ve lived in the townhouse where I currently live for almost seven months, and I am ready to be out. There are several factors contributing to my desire to leave (including wanting to be able to walk to work and cut the $60+ I spend on transportation a month out of my budget), but the biggest factor is how messy and, I’ll say it, fucking gross my roommates have become. The following events transpired in the span of two days, and pushed me over the edge…

  1. There was a tub full of water (which used to be ice) from one roomates’ birthday party sitting in the dining room… from a month ago… and it had about 1/2 inch of MOLD growing on the top  and she got mad at me when I told her to clean it up
  2. The food disposal was FULL to the very top, of nasty, rotting food… because no one understands the concept of a food disposal, apparently
  3. I only discovered #2 after I removed the foot and a half deep pile of dirty dishes (covered in actual food) from the sink
  4. Someone put a plate or something literally COVERED in flour in the dishwasher, so every time you added anything to it, you were showered in white powder
  5. And then the buzzer on the drier went off, and woke me up, at 2 o’clock in the morning

So, needless to say, I’m moving.

Soon.

Really fucking soon.

I just need to find a new place (and new roommates) and find someone to take my room in my current place. If I can make that all happen in the next two and a half weeks, I’ll even get my security deposit back.

This all means that I’m back in the depths of Craigslist, desperately seeking an affordable place near my office with people who won’t make me want to gouge my eyes out or massacre them in the middle of the night.

*Know anyone in the DC area looking for a roomie? I’m pretty cool, if I do say so myself!

And that brings me to:

An Open Letter to People Posting Ads on Craigslist:

For serious… what is the matter with you people? You honestly think I’m going to reply to an ad that literally only says “room available. call bob.” I mean, really? Really?

Details, people. Details.

I’d like to know where the apartment is. And “DC” isn’t a location. That’s a city. A pretty big one. There are lots of different areas of DC, and the city is even nice enough to freaking name them for you. Why is it so hard to say “Adams Morgan” or “Cleveland Park”. Fuck, at this point, I’d even just take “Northeast DC”.

I’d also like to know who you are. If I’m going to come to your house to look at an available room, I’d like to be semi-sure you’re not an 87-year-old perv, luring me to a death trap. I’d like to know if people with ambiguous names are male or female (all the Sam’s and Corey’s out there… I’m looking at you).

I’d like to know how much the rent is. The real, actual, monthly rent. Stop being assholes and putting “$400 for Room in 2BR Apartment”, luring me into the ad, and then announcing that is the weekly rate. You suck.

I’d like to see some pictures. Pictures that actually have something to do with the room. Don’t tell me you’ve got this great, huge room in a beautiful rowhouse, and then show me one picture of your dog and one of what appears to be half of a kitchen cabinet. Are you selling me your dog? Do you refinish cabinetry? No? Stop showing me irrelevant crap.

All I want is a nice, well-written, clear description of the house and room. A few fun details about yourself. A clear, decently sized photo of the room. That’s it. Not a whole lot to ask.

Therefore, get your shit together, Craigslist posters. For real.

Sincerely, Rebecca

And PS: Don’t write in all caps. I don’t want to live with someone who’s already yelling at me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 1:09 pm

    wish i could help out, but i live/know MD around annapolis/baltimore… good luck with the hunt and avoiding craigslist creepers!

  2. March 11, 2010 1:18 pm

    Um… ❤ you bunches, Becca. This post made me laugh and nod my head with every point you made. Good luck finding a new place and someone to fill your old spot.

    And to the Craigslist people of DC: this chick is an awesome roomie, so shape up if you want a chance at her!

Leave a Reply

