Skip to content

Some Semblance of a Social Life

January 24, 2010

Oh, it’ll be fun. Big excitement, big hair! We’ll get dolled up and paint the town!

After almost six months of living in DC, I am finally working on having a social life. Now that I’ve got a rhythm going at work, and I’ve got my errands and chores habits down, it’s time to have some freaking fun!

On Thursday, I went to a Twineup with Sydney, a friend from work, and about 80 other Twitter-ers from the DC area at Urbana Wine Bar. I met some super fun people, and had a great time drinking wine and joking around, probably while pissing off all the other people in the restaurant. I’m guessing no one warned the normal patrons that 80+ people would be descending on the bar to talk and laugh and be merry for three or four hours. I got some good tips of different places to check out, including Bourbon, a bar in Adams Morgan, which apparently boasts an epic variety of bourbon and whiskey. I will definitely have to check that place out at some point. So overall, Thursday night at Urbana was great. Awesome people, good wine, lots of laughs. The things great nights are made of.

Saturday, I had double the fun. I met up with my friend, Courtney (a fellow UD alum), for lunch and wandering at Eastern Market. We spent a little while wandering around the different stalls at the market and the streets surrounding the market, trying to decide where to eat. We ended up at Belga Cafe, and had the most delicious savory waffle lunches in existence. I had the Gerookte Zalm Wafel, which is a puff pastry waffle with smoked salmon, roasted tomatoes and chive cream. I don’t think I’ve ever been so sad to be done with a meal. Courtney went for the Geitenkaas Wafels (goat cheese waffle with roasted tomatoes, pepper coulis & herb salad). To say we were licking our plates at the end of the meal would be a heinous understatement. After lunch and mimosas, we kept wandering around Eastern Market a bit, before going into Capitol Hill Books, which is officially my new favorite place in the world. Books are crammed into every single nook and cranny of the three floor store. Even in the bathroom. And in the non-functioning refrigerator. It’s incredible. I wish I could live there. I ended up buying a gorgeous copy of ‘Walden’ for under $10. Definitely will be going back there again.

And Saturday night, I met up with a few friends (Marielle & Ben [more UD alums] and their friend Nick)  for dinner in Old Town Alexandria. We went to Momo for sushi, and got enough food for probably six or seven people. And ate it all. Super delicious. And it was great to see Marielle again. She lives in Baltimore, so we don’t see each other super frequently.

So this week, I made some good strides towards getting out of my house and into the city. And, I’m going to a UD Alumni event at BlackFinn DC later this week to continue the trend!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

