Skip to content

52 Books in 52 Weeks

January 14, 2010

Wow. Aren’t we hooked on phonics?

Last year, I made only one New Years’ Resolution. I wanted to read 52 books in 52 weeks. As a kid, I read voraciously – literally read anything I could get my hands on. As I got older, reading was replaced with watching television.

Now that I’m in my mid-twenties, I think about 99% of the stuff on tv today is complete and total crap. I watch a handful of shows (NCIS, Glee, Bones), but for the most part, don’t like to watch tv. This reduction of tv in my life came from the time period I lived in a tiny studio apartment in Phoenix, Arizona, and barely made enough money to pay my bills. So I only had basic cable. Only about 20 channels, and very little worth watching.

*Sidenote: If I had my way, my roommates & I would only have basic cable. Sadly, I don’t have my way.

Anyway, last year, I decided to get re-hooked on phonics. And I was very successful. I read 63 books last year. Sixty-three. Pretty damn impressive, if I do say so myself. I did, however, have four months of unemployment staring me in the face, during which I did a shit-ton of that reading.

So I’m challenging myself again. Another year of 52 books in 52 weeks. I’ll be keeping track on my 2010 Goals page, and will update it every time I start or finish another book.

Anyone else got a reading goal for 2010?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

